The inauguration of ASEAN Deaf Bowling Championship kicked off in Manila on 25 April 2019.

A total of 39 athletes and officials from four countries participated in the championship. Singapore’s Vincent Chong Kar Keong outclassed the powerhouse, Malaysia to clinch his first gold medal at the Men Singles event. However, Malaysia battled back to secure two gold medals for Doubles and Trios Men events.

Philippines’ Lovella Catalan defeated the gold Deaflympic medalist, Adelia Naomi Yokoyama at the Master’s Women event Final and won her first gold medal. Choon Seong Ho of Malaysia won the gold medal at the Master’s Men event Final against Mohd Firdaus from Malaysia.

Singapore, the overall champion, bagged six gold, three silver and four bronze. The Malaysian ranked 2nd place with the Overall Men’s Team trophy, three gold, five silver and four bronze. The Philippines ranked 3rd place with one gold, two silver and two bronze.

The ADSF President, Mr Kamarzaman Harun, expressed his heartfelt thanks to the President of Philippine Bowling Congress, Engr. Guillermo Mallillin and Technical Director, Mr Francis De Leon for their support and cooperation with the ADBC 2019 Organizing Committee to make this happen.

The event uplifted and inspired the entire region in celebration of achievements and continuous commitment towards sportsmanship. At the spectacular cultural-inspired closing ceremony, Singapore received the official ADSF Flag and will be hosting the second ASEAN Deaf Bowling Championship in 2021.

UPDATE: The Singapore 2021 ASEAN Deaf Bowling Championship postponed to 2022 due to the COVID-19 situation.